No announcement yet.

Recording advantages of 44.1kHz vs. 48kHz revisited

Collapse

X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording advantages of 44.1kHz vs. 48kHz revisited

My friend sitting here brought up a good point. We've been conditioned to record 44.1kHz due to CDs being 44.1kHz.

But since CDs are disappearing, and we use audio for videos more commonly, including uploading 'em to YouTube or playing back MP3s, is there any disadvantage in recording at 48kHz?

What are your thoughts?
    Ken Lee on 500px / Ken's Photo Store / Ken Lee Photography Facebook Website / Blueberry Buddha Studios / Ajanta Palace Houseboat - Kashmir / Hotel Green View - Kashmir / Eleven Shadows website / Ken Lee Photography Blog / Akai 12-track tape transfers / MY NEW ALBUM! The Mercury Seven

No disadvantage that I know of. I've been tracking at 48k since about 2004 or so.

Here's something that I can't figure out...

If you're ever planning on providing hd tracks to something resembling a "market", you better track at 96k or 192 .. like now.

I always figured I could port stuff or upsample to 96 on existing tracks but you know what?... there are guys in high fidelity land that know when you do that. They can tell from scopes and screens and things.

How do they know that? That really throws me. If I do a real-time port of a 48k 24bit song into a second daw at 96k... those guys ALWAYS know that the source was 48.

And then they call foul.

How do they do that?????? I'm going to have to find out more from those expert high-fidelity nerds.

Anyway, I'm probably going to ramble on over to 96k pretty soon anyway for tracking.

There's really no reason to avoid it now I guess.

Bought my first cell phone this year so anything's possible.

Comment

I
      <><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

“Music is well said to be the speech of angels... nothing among the utterances allowed to man is felt to be so divine."

~Thomas Carlyle

Comment

Quote Originally Posted by Beck
        View Post