Self-taught vs trained musicians at the intermediate level

Jkater

• Members

In the vein of "rock vs classical" threads, but not limited to those styles, I have found that it's in the intermediate level that the most interesting and significant difference occur between musicians who rely on music sheets and those who don't. I have played occasionaly with people who learned to read with "proper" lessons, etc and, while they do a good job at it, they need a music sheet in front of them all the time. Some seem to be hardly able to play anything without one. At that level, the self-taught is often the better musician.

With very advanced classical players, I think it's another story.

• Members

I don't have a lot of experience with people who read sheet music. Still, I doubt that everyone who reads music proficiently becomes completely dependent on the pages. But, it must be a comfort for some people to have such an elaborate cheat sheet when you can read it fast.

I'm self taught and play by ear. I can't read music and know nothing about music theory. Either I was born with a good ear for music or I learned from listening to the radio and records as a young child.

Meanwhile, my brother learned music theory and he can read music, but he sometimes struggles with learning pieces by ear. I've noticed that his ear has improved with hard work. Although sheet music can help him learn a tune, I don't think he's particularly fast at reading music. He never uses the sheet music once he's learned a piece.

I think it would be a great skill to be able to read sheet music rapidly. I suppose, it is a shame if it becomes a crutch for some. I would find it cumbersome to be tied to sheets of paper. Still, I would find it helpful when first learning a piece of music if I could learn from sheets at a decent pace. I've used tablature here and there and it can be useful for intricate music, but it certainly takes up more room than traditional sheet music.

• Members