your favorite cymbals... ever.

JMR

• Members

i don't know, I'm bored. Post pics/clips of cymbals you really like.

For me, my favorite hi hats of all time have to be these:

[video=youtube;QmCsWlVpnGI]

way better IRL.

with a close second being the non-soundedge 2002s and the 70s Zildjian new beats.

Also, 21" Zildjian Armand. My friend owns one and it is amazing. Crashes really, really well.

[video=youtube;fm65RIwWst0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fm65RIwWst0

• Members

This is a tough one. I've had a lot of cymbals over the years, I really loved. An old 40's Zildjian ride I got from Tony, when I studied with him. My late 60's Paiste Formula 602's. My Bosphorus's.

But, over the decades, I'd say that Paiste 2002's have held a special place in my heart, more than most other cymbals.

• Members

No special or particular cymbals. I've always liked New Beats. And especially so now that I have them paired with thin crash tops.

I also like the sound of Quick Beats and KZs ( Mark Craney, Vinnie C. respectively ) but they'd do me too much hearing damage to play.

The Paiste DE hats sound very good. They have that crisp white noisy quality but not harsh like Sound Edges. Very unobtrusive too. I wouldna paid much attention to 'em if Paul Leim hadn't explained their virtues.

The Armand ride is killer; sounds like it has a rivet, crashes like a thin ride, still has the fundamental sustain of a med.

• Members

Paiste Signature Full crashes - best/most musical crashes I've ever heard.

Paiste Twenty hats - the most 'traditional cymbal sound' hats I've found; have that certain Paiste character still, but sound like what I imagine anyone would expect hihats to sound like

• Members

For crashes...my 18" Armand Thin Crash.

Splashes...my 10" AAX Splash (beautiful shimmer).

Rides...I've heard some really good Paiste's, but I love my plain-ole 20" Medium A.