What would you do?

gonzobassman

• Members

My side project has taken off like wildfire!I have made twice as much money with them so far this year as I have with my "big band" We are practicing our asses off just to have enough material to play the gigs we are getting! This is a great problem to have,and I have no issues with this. We all seem to pretty much be on the same page,and there is lots of potential here. Where I need you opinions is on this subject. I am a bassist that has played every style of music,on damned near every bass made,through damned near every amp made for more than thirty years. I have played in almost every state in our great nation,and eighteen more countries as well.As such,I have learned the value of patience almost to a fault. The drummer I am working with in this project just does not seem to be getting it. He is a great guy with a good attitude,and is an accomplished drummer. That said,most of our rehearsal time is devoted to going over breaks,and endings,and change-ups that he consistantly misses. We spend several hours a week going over this stuff,and at gigs he consistantly misses the same breaks,endings,and change - ups that we spent so much precious time on. It is really starting to get to me! I have discussed it at length with the guitarist(another been around the block more than once type)in detail. I don't expect miracles,but it is an insult to me,to spend even thirty minutes on a break at rehearsal just for it to be missed when its showtime! And the missed endings are the worse thing in the world! Makes the whole band look like a bunch of {censored}ing dipsticks. I feel it is too early into the project to start talking replacement options,and even if I didn't,the drummer is the guy that called me into it in the first place.I would have a hard time booting him from a project he got me into,but not really.I can seperate personal feelings from business realities quite easily.This makes me a real world-class asshole to most of th