Bridge replacement question

NitroBobby

• Members

I am going to be changing the bridge on my bass. I am looking for information on how to do this properly. My biggest concerns are:

(1) Placement. specifically, the measurements involved to ensure the bridge is in the right spot.

(2) Holes. the new bridge won't have the same hole pattern as the old one. do i need to fill in the old holes? what do i use to do this?

(3) common issues. i've never done this before, so any advice on avoiding common issues would be great.

if there is a thread that covers this already and someone has a link, i'd appreciate the help.

i did use the search, there were 11 pages and i went through a bunch of stuff. i didn't find anything that addressed these questions. so any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

kgb

• Members

I am going to be changing the bridge on my bass. I am looking for information on how to do this properly. My biggest concerns are:

(1) Placement. specifically, the measurements involved to ensure the bridge is in the right spot.

(2) Holes. the new bridge won't have the same hole pattern as the old one. do i need to fill in the old holes? what do i use to do this?

(3) common issues. i've never done this before, so any advice on avoiding common issues would be great.

if there is a thread that covers this already and someone has a link, i'd appreciate the help.

i did use the search, there were 11 pages and i went through a bunch of stuff. i didn't find anything that addressed these questions. so any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

kgb

What bass do you plan on doing this to?

• Members

I replaced the bridge on my Jackson bass with a Bad Ass II bridge. Those bridges are pretty good in my opinion. Gives the bass good sustain. The holes didn't line up, but I just screwed in new the screws that came with the Bad Ass II bridge. I would recommend using a power drill, as I did.

• Members