Beginner tips for good bass tone

hugbot

• Members

Can someone give me any tips on how to get a good sound tone wise from playing bass?

I'm primarily a guitarist, but I've been playing bass more for a recording project, I just have no idea how to go about getting a "good tone".

To clarify, it reminds me of when I first picked up a guitar and know what a pickup selector switch does, but having no idea if for rock I should be playing with it up or down (neck pickup is bassier and bass is good right?) or when I started tweaking an amp and the months I spent thinking turning your presence up full and your mids to zero is a good sound. I eventually got a feel for it but I dont have any reference in terms of bass sound and since I'm not likely to be playing out with a band as a bassist I'm not going to pick it up that way like I did with guitar.

• Members

Wow. That is a really broad question. Better bass tone in simplest terms comes from spending more time behind the ax. Other than that, as with everything pro audio, always employ the KISS method.

Keep

It

Simple

Stupid

Start with a passive instrument like a P bass. Start with your EQ flat and keep it as flat as possible until you start getting plenty of experience. If playing rock, lock in with the kick drum.

If you have specific ?s, we can address them.

• Members

Wow. That is a really broad question. Better bass tone in simplest terms comes from spending more time behind the ax. Other than that, as with everything pro audio, always employ the KISS method.

Keep

It

Simple

Stupid

Start with a passive instrument like a P bass. Start with your EQ flat and keep it as flat as possible until you start getting plenty of experience. If playing rock, lock in with the kick drum.

If you have specific ?s, we can address them.

What he said!

• Members

Ok, scooping mids on a guitar is generally a bad idea I've found as you loose the qualities that help it cut through, but what about bass?