When kids won't listen to their Elders (playin for the door...)

Mr. Botch

• Members

One of my band members booked us in a SLC club that recently changed ownership. The club gave us 200 tickets to give to everyone we knew, we were to receive $3 for each ticket turned in. I've been playing for over 25 years now, and NEVER have had a "play-for-the-door" gig go well. I've reiterated that many times to the two new guys in our band, but to no avail.

Well, we set up in the club. The club has their own sound system and lights, so we avoided that much work. We had to use the "house" sound man, but our own sound man Danny stuck around, patched in, and ran our in-ear monitors for us. During FOH soundcheck, the soundman asked for a kick, and the volume almost bounced two of us off the stage. DAMN IT WAS LOUD!!! I actually turned my in-ears completely off halfway through the night, and just used them as ear plugs. It was apparent that keys weren't a priority in the mix, hopefully I was playing in the right keys on the songs.

We actually had a great crowd. Every seat was filled, the dance floor had folks on it every single song all night long, and a LOT of liquor was sold. Take for the night? $55. That's for all five of us, not $55 each. That doesn't even include the fact that, since so many of the crowd were fans of ours and not members of the club itself (this is Utah, private club yada yada), every person walking in the door, although they avoided the $5 entrance fee, still had to buy a club membership; so the club owner made out like a bandit.

To add insult to injury, as we were packing up in the parking lot at the end of the evening, the owner jumps in his truck, backs up, and backs OVER Danny's PA snake! He didn't seem too concerned about it either.