Hangin' it up???

• Members

I will always be into music, and always play in some form or fashion(just the acoutic guitar right now). But my question is: When is it time to give up the dream?

My Story(short version): I started playing piano when I was 8yrs old, and always had a knack for learning by ear. Even before I took lessons, I taught myself to play the "Graduation song". Then I started playing guitar when I was 13, and was a great rhythm guitarist. I went to Berklee School of Music for their Summer Performance Program in "95, and did surprisingly well. Switched to bass when I was 15 cause they're hard to come by. I didn't wanna switch cause of all the typical stereotypes of playing bass, but I learned how to make it my own "animal". I actually became really good, and me and the other guitarist formed a band. We played a few shows, and by luck, got signed to Ghostface Killah's(Wu-Tang Clan) new label, Starks Enterprises. We were also to be on an independent film's soundtrack(Bully) as the main track. Unfortunately, there was animosity in the band, and we split due to "musical differences". After that drama, I was gonna hang it up. Several years later, I had a friend get me back into playing. I've had mixed feelings about what I wanna do, but I really enjoy playing, and the possibility of playing in a band again. I was also thinking that I was just reluctant to try because of my history with the previous band. I would love to play bass in a band/group again. I look at the online videos for Musician's Institute, and feel I could "ace" through alot of'em, with some effort. But this is how I look at it now. I'm 32yrs old, newly married, unemployed, and possibly starting a family. Plus, I feel like the music scene in my area is not where I need to be to push on. Maybe I'm just defeating myself,or maybe it's time. Hoping you all can give me some insight? Thank You fellow musicians.

• Members