Gigging with minors

Bignasty006

• Members

Hi, my name is Kade. I'm in a bit of a pickle with my band. Us 5 have all grown up together and have been playing music for a while. 10 years for me personally. We have played numerous talent shows, parties, etc. Its great and all, but we can't really reach all the people we would like because of age limitations on bars and clubs.

Right now 3 of the 5 people are of age to get into bars, but what do we do about the other 2 (Our drummer and bassists)?

Please let me know your thoughts on this concerning venues to play at that are all ages. thanks in advance:)

• Members

Well, it's been, umm, awhile since I was underaged :lol:, but I started playing in bars when I was 15, in bands with older guys. I went to my state Alcoholic Beverage Commission and got a letter from them stating that it was OK for me to be in the bar while I was working. The letter said it was OK for me to be in the stage area, backstage and load-in areas only. I couldn't sit at the bar, and I had to leave when the band wasn't working.

But, it satisfied bar owners when we showed them the letter. I don't know if that'd still work now or it would work in your state, but it's worth a phone call to find out.

• Members

Well, it's been, umm, awhile since I was underaged
:lol:
, but I started playing in bars when I was 15, in bands with older guys. I went to my state Alcoholic Beverage Commission and got a letter from them stating that it was OK for me to be in the bar while I was working. The letter said it was OK for me to be in the stage area, backstage and load-in areas only. I couldn't sit at the bar, and I had to leave when the band wasn't working.

But, it satisfied bar owners when we showed them the letter. I don't know if that'd still work now or it would work in your state, but it's worth a phone call to find out.

Wow, you did things the right way, Lee! :D