Playing in a Band With Guys Twice My Age :)

dgc480

• Members

Hey, so I met a group of older guys (50s) who are in a classic rock cover band. Their lead guitarist / sound guy just left the band, and when he did he unplugged all of the cables to the PA system just to be a jack@ss.

Just so happens, I'm a lead guitarist / sound guy, and they needed some help putting their PA back together. So I went over to help the lead singer/rythm player set up the PA, and ended up jamming out for a bit on guitar. He dug it, and was really glad that I new so much about PA systems as well. So he asked if I wanted to come by for a full practice and maybe join the band. I'm like, hell yea, this will be a great experience jamming with a bunch of older guys. Not to mention they're an established cover band and I'd be walking into a gig a week paycheck.

I'm 22 btw. Does anyone think it will just be too strange having a young lead guitarist in a band of older guys? I think maybe it'll be a cool touch. People are surprised when a young kid can hold his own. Idk, I'm excited :)

• Members

DO IT!!! I have a few older "handlers" trying to steer me on the right path, and you can't replace the knowledge and experience they will give & rub off on you.

If you are all getting along good, DO IT!!

Older/more experienced people will make you better, they've already been around the block and back! :thu:

• Members

I've been playing in bands with guys older than me since I was about your age (I'm 32 now). It's always worked out very well for me. If nothing else, it'll be a good experience for you, build up your chops, and get you in front of crowds and (potentially) other musicians. Have fun with it!

• Members