Anyone play in a trio? Experience?

rockerdiva

• Members

We may be losing our bassist. Sadly, it will be the second time we have had to lose a bassist. But the lead guitarist in this band has also played bass in other bands, and I am also an accomplished guitarist that has played limited bass in the past. Up until now I have been playing acoustic guitar in this band, but I can't play electric lead the way our lead guy does. But we were talking about how we could possibly switch off on bass duties, pull off a trio, you know? He could play bass under some of the acoustic guitar dependent tunes, I could play bass under the tunes that had to have electric solos and such ... he is a better bassist than I and I'd have to bust my butt on the tunes to get up to speed, but it is possible.

Plus, in this economy, it just might be the smart way to go. This is one reason our bass player might be leaving - he has a lot of new expenses now, and he also does a lot of work as a solo act.

Anyway, anyone want to share their experiences with a trio?

Did you miss the fuller sound of having more instrumentation, a second guitarist or keyboardist or whatever? How do you deal with parts where there are just leads and bass, (where in a larger band there would be a rhythm part underneath to fill it out?) Does it leave a big gap? Or does it not bother you?

Trio pros and cons?

Are there any bands you might point me to listen to to get an idea of how a rock trio works? Right now the only rock trio I can think of, that had a big fat sound - was Rush. Yep that's us, Rush. Ha ha.

Thanks in advance for any answers.

Probably the thing to do is just make a list of a few songs for us each to learn bass parts to, come together and see how it falls together, if it feels ok.

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members