To Each His Own, But..?

summit111

• Members

My Brothers,

Was flipping thru the channels and I ran across "Molly B's Polka Party" on the RFD Network. Now, I don't know anything about Polka music or bands or dancing to that kind of music.

But those good ole country folks and the bands were having a hell of a good time! The musicians were pretty talented for that type of music. Sometimes we get caught up in our own styles of music, me included, and we over look others.

Sometimes you just have to check out other kinds of music. I played a jazz gig in the French Quarter last night and was feeling pretty proud of that, but those folks in Minnesota were enjoying their Polka just as much as the crowd enjoyed our jazz last night!

• Members

In my day gig, I'm an administrator at a local public high school. A few days ago the band instructor pulled me in and asked me to listen to his students in the high school band playing "The Trish Trash Polka" since he knew I performed polka music, both solo and with a band.

The students did a good job playing the charts, but I told him and them that they needed to smile as they played since polka music is supposed to be fun, happy music. Not sure if they were so serious looking because they were concentrating on reading the music, or they just didn't like the style of music itself.

• Moderators

My Brothers,

Was flipping thru the channels and I ran across "Molly B's Polka Party" on the RFD Network. Now, I don't know anything about Polka music or bands or dancing to that kind of music.

But those good ole country folks and the bands were having a hell of a good time! The musicians were pretty talented for that type of music. Sometimes we get caught up in our own styles of music, me included, and we over look others.