Blackbird?

Potts

• Members

Guitarists...Do you play it?

I've been playing guitar for 30 years and never learned it until a couple of weeks ago. It was a rough one to add to the set- I blew it a bunch of times. Now that I have it wired, I pretty much sneak it in every gig even though it's so mellow. The tune is just fun to play.

Discuss?

• Members

I don't. I have the tab for it an began to learn it at one point.

I'm just not a Beatles fan, and there's so many other songs out there that I need to learn. It seems like that's a staple of most local solo acts, but it is pretty mellow.

• Members

I learned it in the '60s because I thought it would be a good acoustic song. In the '70s I came across some sheet music with classical guitar pieces. One of them was obviously where McCartney got the idea for Blackbird's music. I read recently that the lyrics are about the civil rights movement in the '60s.

• Members

I don't. I have the tab for it an began to learn it at one point. I'm just not a Beatles fan, and there's so many other songs out there that I need to learn. It seems like that's a staple of most local solo acts, but it is pretty mellow.

Yeah but after playing all the cheesy stuff that gets requested sometimes I figure it's ok to be selfish. :)

• Moderators

did it as a solo throwaway/fill-in as the band went on break, for years, on and off..also Her Majesty..and Mother Nature's Son...the simplicity of the 'two-finger-thirds-picked' technique led me on to figuring out an immense number of songs, from Christmas Carols to classical pieces ,as well as some ragtime pieces..Scott Joplin, etc.and it leads into some serious jazz technique... :thu:

Despite his naysayers, Macca was, musically, the backbone of the Beatles.

• Members

did it as a solo throwaway/fill-in as the band went on break, for years, on and off..also Her Majesty..and Mother Nature's Son....