my new P.A. system

• Members

Don't you think that before buying your system for your own "live sound team" you should actually know how to use a PA first? And you said "complete", but you didn't include monitors, EQ's, processing, cases, cables, mics, stands, cords, power, etc. And why 2 tops and 2 subs per side, but only a 16 channel board? And what's the budget? And purpose/requirements? A little more detail would be nice, unless you want to get a recommendation for a really expensive system.

• Members

I'm at the point where I've spent about $6k for a system that's workable, yet I'm still at least $4k away from my goal for something "passable". It's my first time investing in a system, and let me tell you: if you want to take having your own sound system seriously, be prepared to not only spend serious amounts of your hard earned cash, but to read & study & work & listen. Yeah, I'm only 21 and maybe I wouldn't rush into things so wrecklessly if I could do it over again, but I've learned that SR is a very very "technical" profession (at least much more technical than I ever imagined, let me tell you, I'm very happy I got through trig and basic physics in high school). After dumping my savings into the system and running it for a few gigs, I've realized I have a TON of reading and learning to do. It's not as simple as spend 10k and you have a banging sound system, it takes a lot of dedication to the books. I got the false impression that it would all be easy, all because I could pull it off in high school with a powered mixer, a couple of mains and monitors. Anyway, my point is that you should pick up a few books about SR just to see what you're really getting into BEFORE you spend all your money.