31 band EQ

• Members

well I would say that the DBX is a better EQ, from a purely electronics standpoint.

How ever, you need to ask yourself if you need the FLS.

if so , how much is it worth to you?

resale on the DBX will be better.

if it where me, I would use DBX, if it where someone who was new to eq's and need something kinda simple I would go peavey.

For the frount mix, I would use DBX, monitors I could go either way.

Kev.

• Members

Originally posted by kevinnem

How ever, you need to ask yourself if you need the FLS.

if so , how much is it worth to you?

I dunno.. is it a newb device that I'll grow right out of?? I guess I don't since I have some experience w/ FB hunting.

Originally posted by The Real MC

I tried both and for a little more $$$ I wound up buying the Ashly GQX3102

LOL..little? It looks nice man but I can't swong that! :) Thanks anyhow though..

Originally posted by agedhorse

Practice PA... a DBX 231 would be just fine. Great actually.

Do you think the addtl features ie Limiter etc isn't worth it so much?

Thanks guys for the great feedback!!

• Members

Originally posted by SoundMan

I'm curious as to why you would say that. Is that your perception becuase of the names on the front?

SoundMan

no it is my persection from useing the 2 of them a ton, in fact they are the 2 most common eq's I use. Most often I will have one of the DBX at FOH if I am working out there, and if I am in monitor world I have a stack of 3 of the peavey's and 1 dbx

it s most certinly my perception - thats what the guy was asking for- and hey remember, everything in life is precetion, we can't be sure of anything.

Kevin.

• Members

Well in that case, it's not your "perception", it's your experience.

I wasn't challenging your experience. You said, "well I would say that the DBX is a better EQ, from a purely electronics standpoint."