small hands

hellohello

• Members

I am 150 cm tall and my hands are max 16 cm. I have a classic guitar and I am a beginner. I've been struggling to get my hands to make some chords right, while there are chords that I totally can't play without forcing my hand until it hurts.. Each time I try to "practice" it (thinking maybe I'll be able to make it right finally), my hand hurts. I wanted to ask if I should consider buying a new guitar that is 3/4 and acoustic? (I realized only a few days ago that the classic has thicker neck). Or should I keep practicing and my hand will get used to that.?

• Moderators

Shalom!

If it is really hurting you, then a 3/4 scale instrument may be a better choice for someone of your stature. My wife is ~4'10" /147cm, so I understand the challenges. The selection of 3/4 scale guitars is far better than is used to be, but they are not all that common, unlike violins. Be aware that you are inevitably going to endure pain in your fretting hand, regardless of the instrument size, as you try to train the muscles to go where they have never gone before. That is all part of the guitarist gestalt; we've all been there. Millions give up from this, but a billion of us are still at it:wave:

I suggest you stay with the classical as it will be easier to deal with the string tension, despite the wider neck, and in many ways, for a beginner, the wider neck helps you to see the finger positions more clearly. Once you have some 'mastery' of the instrument [quick chord changes on the beat, etc.], some muscle memory, and some finger-tip calluses, you will be ready to move to a steel string instrument with a narrower neck. And for the first month you will miss that big wide neck, and those nice, soft, fat strings, as you train your muscles yet again to adapt to the new neck and the stiffer, thinner strings :D

• Members

Hello and welcome.