Been thinking

• Members

About monitors.I now (finally) have 4 wedges.All are Yamaha w/15s.The "newest" are Club V series.A 4-channel amp(2-space) would save me a couple of rack spaces.As I'm trying to do the all self contained,pre-wired rig,rack space is starting to get like ocean front property.Anyway,the best value I've found is a Carvin DCM 1204.It features 4-200 watt "sides" at 8 ohms.This with a couple DBX 231s and I will have 4 seperate monitor mixes with eq all in 6 rack spaces.Peavey has a couple of offerings in this vein,but don't show quite as much power.I think 200 watts per wedge should be plenty,but I'm still really new to this aspect of the business.I know Carvin is not a highly recommended brand in these parts,and indeed I have no love for them,but I cannot remember ever having a problem with a Carvin power amp.Any thoughts,insights,or suggestions would be greatly appriciated.As always,thanks guys!:thu:BTW,I'm also considering 2- QSC GX-3s.100 watts more per channel,and 8-rack space total(with eqs),and only slightly higher in cost.

• Members

Ok, let's do the math:

The Peavey CS 800x4 is rated 180W per channel continuous into an 8 ohm load. The amp is 4U high and weighs 44 pounds. A Yamaha Club 5 wedge driven at 180W has a theoretical output of 121.6 dB.

The Carvin DCM 1204 is rated 200w per channel continuous into an 8ohm load. The amp is 2U high and weighs 23 pounds. A Yamaha Club 5 wedge driven at 200W has a theoretical output of 122dB.

So, let's compare:

The Carvin is lighter and not as tall.

The difference in output levels from the wedges with either amp is less than 1dB, so the 20W difference is not a factor.

The Peavey amp has a better reputation for durability.

Cost: About $849 for the Peavey and about $449 for the Carvin.

I am not qualified to give opinions on sound quality as I have not used either amp personally.