First gig where I have to provide sound

• Members

Any help with the following would be greatly appreciated.

I'm a long time amateur guitarist, maybe semi-pro.

I just got a gig at a restaurant lounge where I'm responsible for the sound. This is new territory for me.

I'm planning to bring in a jazz quartet, guitar, keys, bass, drumset. I'm hoping to have some horn players and maybe a singer sit in. We expect to play at a higher volume level than wallpaper.

The room is a funny shape, sort of a 35x35 foot box with a long extension coming out of the side. The people in the extension can't see the band and probably want to talk. There might be 30-40 people max in the box-like area with the band, bar on one side.

The venue has two unpowered jbls (they didn't say a model number) attached to the wall. They take, according to the info supplied by the venue, 1/4 inch cables.

Most bands use a PA and mic at least some of the instruments, probably keys and flute (not drums), but I've seen at least one group sound decent without a PA at all, just their amps. I think the venue would probably prefer quieter to louder, meaning people 20feet away should be able to talk or shout over the music.

I have sat in with bands twice at this venue, and each time I was able to get enough volume with a Roland JC55 for my guitar. And that was with louder groups than mine.

So, what equipment have I got? Don't laugh. A Sennheiser 609 that I use for guitar. Can I use it for vocals, or should I just forget that?

I have the ZT Lunchbox. Supposedly 200 watts (somebody posted that it might really be 120 rms) I'm wondering if I could consider maybe driving one of the JBL's with it. If it's a good enough power amp, then I could borrow a little mixer and use that to power a single speaker. Do I get a 1/4 inch line level signal out of a typical mixer? Would I at least get something good enough to make announcements? Good enough for a singer?