Guitar doctor needed! Could someone listen to these examples and tell me where I'm going wrong...

fizzyfizz

• Members

Hi, I've been making my own music for over 30 years and nearly always use synths because whenever I introduce a guitar it always ends up sounding either flat or muddy and always horrible!

Over the years I've had access to a number of different guitars and effect boxes etc but I always end up with the same rubbish result! I understand the concept of separating the tracks left and right but I'm obviously doing something wrong somewhere.

Here are two samples from a recent composition. Same track with the guitar at two different levels. It sounds terrible! A complete mess!! But I cannot pin point what I need to do to get a nice and simple cleaner sound. Eg, when listening to the radio, on most songs I can easily pick out the bass guitar and lead guitar etc (even if the radio was quiet!)

My tune sounds absolute rubbish and I'd really appreciate any advice. Here's links to the 2 examples...

http://www.fizzywack.webspace.virginmedia.com/guitarloud.mp3

http://www.fizzywack.webspace.virginmedia.com/guitarquiet.mp3

THANK YOU

• Members

Are you using good studio monitors to mix??? Studio monitors are a must in getting a proper balance and frequency response.

I'll go out on a limb here and at a quick listen it immediately sounds like its been mixed on headphones. Bad speakers or mixing environment may be the cause too. The frequency response and instrument levels are all strange. It may sound fine on headphones but it doesn't translate to speaker systems properly.

The cause of this is with headphones, the center is between your ears inside your skull and you have no depth perception. Mixes will wind up sounding two dimensional and lack depth. Everything will sound like its on the edge of the stage and you run out of stage very quickly.