Simple VS Complex

RoboPimp

• Members

is one inherently "better" Or more "creative"?

if so which?

is a basic song with three chords really "simple"

is an epic journey thru keys and rhythms really "complex"

on a related note, my current favorite "simple" 4 chord song

[YOUTUBE]rWeWgDAuxKY[/YOUTUBE]

• Members

no, neither is inherently better or more creative.

This.

I'm not up to par with my musical know-how, but some of my favourite, most enjoyable songs are built around only a handful of chords, whereas some three or four chord pop songs do nothing for me.

• Members

I usually like simple over complex for anything but classical music, and maybe some jazz, although I am far from a jazz expert.

Simple arrangements but with great talent, usually make for an enjoyable performance. It's why I prefer the blues now, over shredding metal. Blues done well (someone with talent) is for me, more enjoyable to listen to, then complex shredding metal licks-evenif done by someone very talented. Just my preference though. And I do like some brutalz, but prefer the somewhat slower, more melodic doom of say Deftones, over 99% of the metal bands suggested in Loobs metal thread.

• Members

complex made simple is my preference :D

there's all different sorts of complexity/ creativity... its all about how they all balance together. (Lyrics, technicality, musical dialogue, meaning)

now go listen Minor Threat's "Look back and Laugh" and tell me thats not complex as shit :wave:

• Members

Both are challenging to do successfully.

Simple = Pachelbel's Canon in D

Complex = Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata

Both will probably be remembered or performed as long as human beings have ears, both are beautiful, and both are equally creative.

good answer is good

• Members