Firebird update...

companyman

• Members

so here are before pictures.......

009.jpg

008.jpg

011.jpg

....so I had a tech pull the maestro tailpiece and drill holes for a stop bar. There was a pretty big hole where the factory didn't predrill the hole for one of the tailpiece screws, so the tech filled it as best as he could, not too bad.

Then I pulled all of the hardware off and used rubbing compound to get rid of the awful gold plating....came out pretty good....

firebird001.jpg

firebird006.jpg

firebird003.jpg

firebird005.jpg

firebird004.jpg

• Members

You shouldn't ever use solvent inside, regardless of space.

You go outside and do it.

I am a Painter that has been using gum turpentine inside for 25 years.....probably explains a lot! :lol:

I practiced with the other guitar player in the band this afternoon for the first time with the Firebird, I likey, and so does he....the mini-humbuckers really have a voice all of their own. Good cheap players guitar!

• Members

Nice! I love Epi Firebirds. I don't get people's disdain of gold hardware, though....I wouldn't necessarily want it on every guitar, but on some guitars, it looks really nice.

I love this guitar....the neck plays like a dream, the pickups are very airey with surprising sustain, with the third pickup, there a bunch of tones to play with. I quickly became comfortable playing it, especially standing up. It fits my tall frame well. So much win for so little $.

I don't know why I can't stand gold hardware...just a bit ostentacious I guess.

• Members

I love this guitar....the neck plays like a dream, the pickups are very airey with surprising sustain, with the third pickup, there a bunch of tones to play with. I quickly became comfortable playing it, especially standing up. It fits my tall frame well. So much win for so little $.

I don't know why I can't stand gold hardware...just a bit ostentacious I guess.