Should I take up singing?

nickname009

• Members

I've been a guitarist for all my life, my band and I have been searching for a singer the whole summer. My drummer thinks he can sing (he can't) but he likes to, and I don't mind letting him front the band and us finding another drummer, the only problem is I'm pretty sure the reason he wants to sing is for the bragging rights/to show off, and not exactly for the band. He believes singing's a gift, you either got it or don't, I don't, i think it's just like any instrument, it takes hard work, dedication, and since he wanted to try singing so badly, him and I rehearsed once with just him singing all the way through, and he was horrible. I told him all he needs is practice, and he said no, it's either you have it or you don't, so i said, ok, then you don't have it.

I actually took some vocal lessons a couple years back and have a pretty good idea of what I'd need to do, but it's been years so I don't know if i'll be committed enough. Also, since i'm one of the guitarists I'd have to practice singing/playing A LOT, i never did have a good sense of timing. I'd also have to be the one to buy the PA system, since I'd be the vocalist and whatnot, that'll burn a hole in my pocket for sure! I'd probably have to be the one to do most of the songwriting as well since i'm the guitarist AND the vocalist!!! I think it might be a lot of work...maybe too much for me to handle, but if it worked out, it'd be a great advancement for the band. I now feel that if I started practicing singing these whole 4 months of summer rather than look for one, I could've done some major good! AGR!

What do i do? Should I take the big step investing my time and money in singing and start going at it? Or should I just lay back and keep searching?

• Members