Friday Influences Thread 02.05.10

Stackabones

• Members

What has influenced you as a songwriter in the past ... or since the last FIT?

As a second-generation Dallas-area musician, I grew up with my father telling me tales about the Vaughans, Steve Miller, Boz Scaggs, and Denny Freeman (my dad actually played in band with Freeman). That's just the short list. Dusty Hill and Frank Beard are also from the Dallas area, which is probably where they first heard the Nightcaps play Thunderbird.

A little Wiki backstory about this tune ...

Thunderbird was originally written and performed by the Nightcaps, a band formed in the 1950s when the members were teenagers. The Nightcaps performed the song and distributed it on their album "Wine, Wine, Wine" but never applied for copyright. ZZ Top began performing its version of the song in 1975, and has conceded that its version is lyrically and musically identical to the Nightcaps' song. The Nightcaps sued ZZ Top for, among other things, copyright infringement, but their claims were dismissed because, in part, ZZ Top had registered a copyright on the song in 1975.

Of course, I grew up with my dad saying -- that's a Nightcaps' tune! And I told my friends, who didn't know WTF I was talking about.

Get high, everybody, get high!

[YOUTUBE]3TkKnhbq6QY[/YOUTUBE]

Everyone in Dallas in the 60s wanted to sound like Jimmy Reed.

• Members

Well... I'm in love so today I don't even have to think about it.

Euro-Nigerian hip hop/neo-soul singer Nneka has grabbed me and won't let go... she's cute, funny, smart... and she doesn't write about partying and boys and bling. By a million miles. She's been active in Europe but a compilation of singles and European releases, Concrete Jungle, is her first US release...

6ivg3J3h5Ps

GIDjwGChFo4

WmwXaPW6wG4

• Members