I've been playing guitar for 20+ years now and have hell tuning by ear.

agradywills

• Members

:facepalm:

Does anyone else have this problem? I've been playing for 20+ years, been in several bands and have a mediocre knowledge of music theory but I have hell tuning by ear. I always rely on a tuner. I've tried to just sit down and make myself but there's always one string that's out of whack. It drives me crazy.

• Members

I have been able to tune by ear for years. I learned to tune with a pitch pipe cuz I couldnt afford a 15 dollar tuner...the pitch pipe was 3 dollars lol. I dont have a tuner, but I dont play live that much either, so :idk: doesnt really matter to me to have one or not. If I feel out of tune, I will double check against tabit, but I am usually good...

I do know people that have been playing for longer than me that cant tune by ear though....I guess not everyone can...But yeah...tuners FTW.

• Members

I had to learn alot of songs for a band once in different tunings and got to be awesome at tuning by ear.

Lately, I use the tuner more and am not as good at ear tuning, but still not bad at all.

So basically, quit using the tuner and you'll get better at tuning by ear.

• Members

Relative and perfect pitch are two different things. Anyone should be able to tune the guitar with itself. If you cant you should not be playing guitar. How many of you so called "Ear tuners" can tune up a guitar to perfect 440 tuning after putting a new set of strings on.

• Members

I guess it's an acoustic guitar that I have the most trouble with. I usually use the harmonics at the 5th and 7th frets on all strings except G and B. It works okay but when I start strumming a song with a progression like G-D-Am-C the C just rings out wrong. Of course this could be intonation but when I hook the guitar to a tuner it evens out everything.

• Members