Lyrics or Poems?

tony333

• Members

I have been giving a little thought to this question this morning. I am probably a bit different than most here in that I always write "lyrics" first and then try to work music around them. The problem being that I am a very novice guitar player and struggle to find the right chords, melody, etc... When I am writing I hear the music in my head, all of it. It's a little strange and frustrating at times. I am constantly "running lines" to see if an idea emerges. Sometimes I go through phases where I wake up with stuff that won't go away until it is on paper. I am in one of those right now. But when does it turn from "poem" to lyrics and song? To me if I hearing it as song then it is and always will be.

• Moderators

I write a lot of lyrics first. I've written them at times too poem like and I get boxed in. But a good lyric starts in the same place at a good poem does. Some key differences:

Symmetry versus asymmetry. Songs lend themselves to a asymmetrical lyric writing style. Why? Because in music you can elongate syllables and turn the same amount of syllables into it into an entirely different stress pattern. Poems are based on syllable count it seems, lyrics on stress count.

Another reason asymmetry works so well when you're writing lyrics is because we have the element of melody built in to our art, poems do not.

And last but definitely not least if you ask Lieber and Stoller, the sound of the word is everything. You could argue that the same is true in poetry but I think you'd be wrong. The sound of the word in poetry is more a device but in song writing it is everything.

• Members

A song doesn't have to be written in one single process. The 1st draft can be prose or poetry or a bit of both.
When something is on paper, then the musical experimentations can take place.
Once a musical direction is found, then the lyric can be crafted.