2x12 cab wired in series but one speaker is not working?

iblastoff

• Members

just got a 2x12 avatar cab i purchased from a forum member with wgs green berets loaded in it. each speaker is 8 ohms and are wired in series to carry a 16 ohm load.

problem is one speaker isn't working at all? the right speaker (facing from the front) produces no sound at all while the left seems to work just fine. i've tried different speaker cables and using the other input on the back of the avatar cab with the same results.

as far as i can tell, i opened up the back and the wiring seems ok (but i'm not a wiring expert). i compared it to the avatar wiring diagram (http://www.avatarspeakers.com/wiring%20diagrams.htm) and it look correct.

i was under the impression that if a speaker is actually blown in a series wired cab, then neither speaker would work?

does this mean it may just be a faulty wire or could i actually have a blown speaker?

rhpc37.jpg - in this image, the LEFT speaker is not working at all. the right speaker seems fine. EDIT:: turns out the speaker DOES work but its really quiet and has no bass response. the cone seems frozen.

vs26id.jpg - NOT working

25814eh.jpg - working

2ylu1ww.jpg input (i believe 2nd input is to daisy chain to other cabs)

• Members

it may be blown with the windings shorted.

in that case the cab would "look" like just one speaker to the amp.

suggest you contact the seller.

Pardone my ignorance but can you physically see if windings have been shorted?

I've emailed the seller and am awaiting a response. in the meantime I'm hoping to get it up and running myself if it's not blown. Unfortunately i dont really have tools like multimeters and such to do further tests or whatever.

• Members

it may be blown with the windings shorted.

in that case the cab would "look" like just one speaker to the amp.

suggest you contact the seller.