Singing?

chadhogan

• Members

So, i come in search of some answers. I have been playing guitar for about 12years. I teach at the music store full time, gig regularly, and have lots of recording experience in big studios. Heres the problem: I can't carry a note with my voice to save my life. HONESTLY, is singing something that can be taught? Im 20 years old, and i would really like to learn, i just don't have anyone to point me in the right direction. What would you singers suggest for someone looking to start from scratch? Thanks a bunch guys.

• Members

I just started taking singing lessons a 3 days ago and I ive been playing guitar for 3 years and im doing really well. Use your instrument to learn! My teacher is teaching me with the guitar. I say or try to say the note that I play. Get it? Start with the scale DO RE MI FA SOL LA SI DO and play it on the guitar. Then try to say the notes while playing it.

Yesterday I moved on to my first song. Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd. I can {censored}ing sing it! Learn with your instrument.

You can do it man. Use your instrument.

edit: by the way, im 19.

• Members

yes a good teacher is probably the best way to do it!

but i did teach myself some - and i was as bad as it gets proir to having a go at it out of necessity, the way i did it was to work out the vocal lines/phrases of songs on git by ear to the letter and write it down notation wise. and i would then practice pitching/singing along to vocal line often, think of the voice as an instrument no different to a real instrument, and you have to train your ear/voice to do what its told

but that does nothing to help with breathing,projection ect. that you need some training for - and it does take a long time to learn if your not a natural, but the beauty of that method is it also benefits your lead playing well too :)