Wanna play a guitar from 1791?

Stackabones

• Members

The museam/collection sounds/looks great!

From the website, I liked...

"Can I Play the Guitars?

Yes, as long as you are not a total beginner. Please wear a long-sleeved jumper/sweatshirt and no belt buckles!" Skippy should note!

Too far fo a simple day out unfortunately - quite near "the smoke", and I am in the "frozen North". Perhaps, if we get to be within easy distance sometime, I will see if I can get a visit.

• Members

Wow!

Questions:

1. The history I've found on the web has the 12 string being invented sometime in the 19th or early 20th century. Does this guitar rewrite 12 string history? I have found no historical references on the web that 12 string guitars existed in the 18th century.

2. Are these nylon strings? Or are they steel? If they're steel, this guitar was made 5 years before CF Martin was born.

3. Does this guitar rewrite both steel-string and 12-string guitar history?

Double wow!

Edit: I've answered question #1. Apparently, there were 12-strings around in the 18th Century. Here's a page. It has 12-strings by the same maker from 1790 & 1802.

1802JuanPages_JWc.jpg

• Members

The Baroque guitar evolved from the Renaissance guitar. The early versions were 10 string instruments (5 twin courses) and, during the Baroque period, a six string was added (sometimes single, sometimes twin). The 2 course string arrangement was also used on the lute which had been around since medieval times.

The strings used during the Renaissance period were gut but during the Baroque period (around 1680), wire wound (copper) basses began to be used (similar to current nylon strings but wound on gut). Steel strings began to be used on string instruments in the 19th century.

• Members

The museam/collection sounds/looks great!

From the website, I liked...

"Can I Play the Guitars?

Yes, as long as you are not a total beginner. Please wear a long-sleeved jumper/sweatshirt and no belt buckles!"