Ivory Bridge Pins

Okieslims

• Members

Hype or beneficial?

I'm thinking about investing in some ivory bridge pins for my acoustic. I read a lot about the tonal benefits, but every site I looked at was linked to a sales page. I would like the opinion of some folks that aren't trying to sell me something.

So if you guys have some experience with going from plastic to ivory bridge pins(or any premium material), please let me in on what tonal differences you noticed. Thanksmuch

Mike

• Members

You can buy those? Legally?? Ivory???

I'm not an expert, but I'm fairly certain that ivory can still be harvested from elephants as long as the elephants are dead of natural causes when said ivory is harvested.

Poaching elephants for ivory is illegal, but I don't think that harvesting the tusks of elephants that are already dead is.

• Members

legal ivory comes from tusks harvested before the ban went into effect maybe late 70's or fosilized ivory from animals long dead. i did buy an ivory saddle which made my alvarez md90 go from sounding very good to sounding great. i received with the saddle a print out of where the tusk was harvested and when along with the control number for the tusk from which the saddle blank was cut. the name of the elephant and the next of kin (kidding) and a note at the bottom that pointed out that the saddle could not cross national boundaries (not kidding, so I will have to leave my dread behind when I do my international tour). I would NOT buy any more ivory as now i have been helped to realize (from posts at HC) that it only fuels the illegal trade of ivory (same for tortise)

• Members