Yamaha F355 - Recommend?

wreckingcru

• Members

Hi,

I'm a beginner guitar player, just starting to feel confident in my song playing ability and trying to buy a decent guitar for

With my limited knowledge, I zoned in on the Yamaha F355 (Black) as a potential guitar. However, when I went to the local Guitar Center in NYC, I was thoroughly dissuaded by the sales guy to buy it. Here are his points:

1) Get the more expensive F700 ($200) - solid wood, no laminate

2) Don't ever buy a black guitar because of the polyurethane.

Any help on these points? Trying them out in the store, they sounded about the same to me (since they're brand new and probably well tuned and I'm not that experienced as it is).

Would you recommend the F355?

Cheers and thanks for everyone's help!

• Members

The Yamaha F335 is an excellent guitar to start out with. They play nicely and sound good and even have decent tuners as well. There are many forum members here who have the F335 also in black and love them. The salesman was wrong on both accounts. First the Yamaha FG700 has a solid top only and laminated back and sides. Secondly, polyurethane finish is found on most guitars not only black. Some people don't like black guitars because they show finger smudges etc.. The salesman was just trying to "upsell" you. If you like the F335 and want it in black there is no reason why you as the paying customer should be able to decide what color you want. This salesman sounds like a moron. Go back and get the F335 if you like it and avoid the previous saleman.

Oh...and welcome to the forum! :thu:

• Members

The Yamaha F335 is an excellent guitar to start out with. They play nicely and sound good and even have decent tuners as well. There are many forum members here who have the F335 also in black and love them. The salesman was wrong on both accounts. First the Yamaha FG700 has a
solid top only