I've never been able to make a decent barre chord

Goofball Jones

• Members

I've been playing off and on for 30 years now and I've never been able to make a decent, consistent barre chord on an acoustic. I can get one about 60% of the time on an electric...but there's usually always a muted out string somewhere in there.

I mean, I press down so hard all over every position on a fret with my barre finger to where it's hurting and yet there will be 2 or 3 strings that are muted out. I have a Martin D16. Should I look for a shorter scale and strings that border on super lite, electric ones? Or go to a nylon string guitar?

It's frustrating...I practice all the time and just can't get it.

• Members

I struggled with barre chords for awhile myself (although I've been playing nowhere near 30 years). Then one day my instructor gave me a handout with a fingering exercise on it. On the same page happened to be some text (and a picture about barre chords) and I thought I'd try what it says and next thing you know, consistent barre chords (granted I'm still a bit slow transitioning to them from open chords but when I get there it all rings clear).

What did I learn? Well, it's not about how hard you can squeeze or how much finger strength. The trick is to pull your elbow in close to the body and drop your shoulder a bit. Then gravity does the hard work for you.

Give it a shot. I'd bet good money it will work.

• Members

Wow, GREAT videos, gitnoob, is that you?

No, I am a noob, and will be for a long time still. :)

That guy's name is Larry, and he's a great player/instructor who contributes often at AGF. I think his username there is ljguitar.

• Members

Sounds like bad technique.

Barre chords don't require a lot of pressure. I doubt it's your guitar because you struggle with barre chords on the electric guitar too.