Help me find a nice Acoustic Guitar?

entertainment9

• Members

Hi, there. I've been playing electric (Strat) for a couple of years and am currently looking into buying my first acoustic. I was hoping some helpful HC's could point me in the right direction. I'm pretty broke so I'm looking for something cheap, sub-300 if possible.

I'm pretty oblivious when it comes to acoustics. I'm quite small arms and hands wise and have trouble with a lot of acoustics being too big for me.

I've just been looking into this Silver Creek Natural T-170 Acoustic Guitar? Anyone have hands on experience with this?

Thanks for any input.

• Members

I was recently shopping for a guitar in that price range for my sister. She, too, preferred a smaller guitar for comfort. The problem, of course, is that they make a LOT more dreadnaught-size guitars than smaller ones.

I'm not familiar with the Silver Creek you mentioned. However, Yamaha makes a smaller guitar (which they call the "folk body") in that price range. It's the FG720S and is equivalent in build quality the the 700/730 that is often recommended here (quite justifiably at that price range, btw).

Seagull also makes a "mini-jumbo" guitar in that price range. Seems like it was $310 or $320 at the GC where I played it. Sounded VERY good. I'm not sure how the "mini-jumbo" body style compares in terms of size to a dread. The lower bout is probably just about as big. But it wasn't very deep, as I recall, so it felt pretty comfortable to me (and I prefer OM-sized guitars myself, even though I'm 6' and can handle a much larger guitar).

Lots of luck with your search! :cool:

• Members

Best bet is visiting a store/s and trying all the different guitars in yer
price range out and then can make a decision

Dont forget the used market on yer craigslist also but best then taking someone whom knows about acoustic guitars along to try it out if one comes to mind..

But i reckon your Craigslist isnt as good as the UKs equivalent of Gumtree