Wedding Gig - Unexpected Compliment

seagullplayer77

• Members

On Saturday, a friend of mine and I played at another friend's wedding. Let me preface the whole story by saying that there was a major lack of communication on the part of the couple. The groom was very hands-off about everything and the bride was very "Whatever you want to play is fine! I just love acoustic guitars!"

Anyway, she wanted us to play as people were getting seated before the wedding, so my friend picked out some fingerpicking tunes he knew and I noodled along with him. I brought my mandolin and we did a tune together, and by the time we finished those, the wedding should have been about to start. He left to take pictures, so I played a few fingerpicking tunes myself to kill the remaining time. The pastor came in and said the bride was running five or ten minutes late, and that I should play some more.

The problem was that at this point, I was just about out of things to play. I'm mainly a rhythm guitarist, but strummed chord progressions with some occasional flatpicking is not particularly intriguing. I eventually ran out of things to play, took out my mandolin, and did an okay job of a tune I hadn't practiced in a while. I stopped playing because it looked like maybe things would get started shortly, but it was a false start and I didn't want to start playing again.

About a half hour late, the wedding party was finally ready to start, so the pastor started motioning for me to play. And I wasn't aware that I was supposed to play anything for the processional. That was bad :facepalm:. I picked something fast and played it well, but I was uncomfortable doing something totally unrehearsed.