Finally, a recording of the McUke

kwakatak

• Members

Earlier this year I reported that I'd won a door prize at a gathering at luthier Tim McKnight's abode/workshop in the form of a cute little ukelele. This isn't one of his normal offerings but he dressed it up nicely and I was tickled to be the lucky recipient. It may be some time - if ever at all - until I actually one of Tim's guitars but at least for now I have something to hold me over.

D7EA471F-orig.jpg

Now I'm no expert on ukeleles but Tim did a great job on the fit and finish. The gloss finish in particular far exceeds any of my other musical instruments. The top appears to be an orphaned single piece of sinker redwood with some sapwood in the middle and Tim went so far as to actually brace the thing with a little X brace. The tuning machines are not your standard pegs through the headstock either; they're actually open backs and hold tune quite well.

I must admit that it took me a little time to adjust my thinking from playing guitar with six strings to playing a soprano ukelele with only four mostly because the neck is so much smaller and the little nylon strings can be pulled sharp in pitch all too easily. The chord shapes are also the same, though the lower most string is actually tuned above the 2 middle strings.