Need some input from some experienced sound guys

• Members

I'm a young college grad and right now I have an employment contract with a non-profit organization. In a few months, my contract will be over and I'll be at a crucial point in my life and at a major crossroads in terms of picking what kind of career path I want to actively pursue and make my life. So far I've formulated a strategy, but I need an insiders perspective. Can any of you help me by sharing your experiences and stories? I just want to ask some questions in order to get more info and evaluate everything.

I want to work live sound and production as well as build and repair amps for a living.

- What kind of income can a live sound engineer/amp tech bring in? Is it enough to support a family and is there upward mobility within these kinds of positions?

- What's your daily routine like?

- What kind of formal schooling would you recommend to compliment a sound job ie a music technology program, electrical engineering, what field of study is most beneficial to not only learning about electronics theory, but putting on your resume and making people take note?

- How did you personally get your start in the industry?

I want to work live sound and production as well as build and repair amps for a living.

It would be extremely difficult to simultaneously do all three. It's hard to take a full bench with you out on the road so you can build amps. It's also difficult to jump back and forth between doing live sound (on the road) and studio stuff, although some folks do manage to make that work somehow... probably mostly by recording bands they meet on the road or tour with.

• Members

I run live sound a lot and it has been an excellent way to get studio clients. It seems that if they like the way you can make them sound in a live situation, they are prone to think you can make them sound good in the studio.