Delicate Question: Album Budgets

• Members

Throwing this out there:

Has anyone else found clients are coming to the studio with less and less money expecting a full album? I know people who are doing full albums for clients for 3-5K and basically living in their parent's basement, but I sure can't produce and record a CD for that much. I mean I have a mortgage and stuff.

The problem is the CD is no longer a straightforward income stream anymore so how to amortize the expense of recording one is a challenge. I used to set $15-$20k as a basic folk album budget, but for most of my clients nowadays they can't bring themselves to spend that kind of money. Sure I can do it for less, but then I'm just a hobbyist at that point and I should take up model trains instead. It's cheaper.

Where is everyone else at in this new digital economy, and how are you convincing clients to spend the bare minimum for professional quality work?

Regards,

Spencer

• Members

I occasionally record full albums for clients for under $5000, but I don't depend on my earnings to make a living, and I record in my house. But I get rock bands coming here sometimes thinking that they can make an album for under $2000 or even under $1000. "Oh, we'll just do everything live and knock it out. It'll go really fast." Great. Are you going to mix this yourself? I guess we're not doing overdubs either?

And rarely does it ever go that fast, especially with inexperienced players.

So I suppose it's all relative.

$2000 or thereabouts...that's a mixing budget for electronic music maybe (I find electronic music typically much easier to mix...well, just about anything that doesn't have acoustic drums is easier to mix, really).

If someone comes in and has a whole bunch of WAV files (stems) of keyboards and keyboard basses and guitars, wants to record vocals, and then wants to throw down an instrument or two and have me mix this, this can be done for way under $5000 at my studio.

• Members