How many of you own hand built custom guitars?

I was The Funk

• Members

I have a workable stable of decent guitars. Washburn KC70's, a Sheraton, and a MIM tele.

I've been playing for 18 years. I play well, and I can get by in any situation. But lately, I feel like I should take a step up in the guitar world and get a real pro "work of art" instrument. Partly to take me to the next level, and partly because I've been playing the same guitars since high school.

My preference would be for a full hollow "Trey" guitar type of instrument. Small, fully hollow, 2 humbuckers with some coil taps. Ebony board, maple top, slim taper neck. Carved tailpiece. I've checked out the Abyss site and the Languadoc site, but at $7-10,000, those seem a but out of range. I could go with a PRS hollow, but they seem steep for a production guitar.

Anyone have a custom axe? How much did you pay? How long did you wait? Was it worth it?

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I have a workable stable of decent guitars. Washburn KC70's, a Sheraton, and a MIM tele.

I've been playing for 18 years. I play well, and I can get by in any situation. But lately, I feel like I should take a step up in the guitar world and get a real pro "work of art" instrument. Partly to take me to the next level, and partly because I've been playing the same guitars since high school.

My preference would be for a full hollow "Trey" guitar type of instrument. Small, fully hollow, 2 humbuckers with some coil taps. Ebony board, maple top, slim taper neck. Carved tailpiece. I've checked out the Abyss site and the Languadoc site, but at $7-10,000, those seem a but out of range. I could go with a PRS hollow, but they seem steep for a production guitar.

Anyone have a custom axe? How much did you pay? How long did you wait? Was it worth it?