How hard is it for a guitar shop to keep its guitars tuned?

trill

• Members

Not a rhetorical question, because I really don't know, and it seems like a lot of them have a lot of trouble doing this.

Now, I don't mind having to tune up a fixed bridge, non-locking tuners/nut guitar. I can usually do that, sans electronics, in a minute or so. However:

1. It's pretty annoying to hear someone try to tune a guitar through an amp; even if it only takes a minute, if you try out six guitars, that's six minutes of *harmonic* *harmoooonniiiiic* *sour E major* *harmonic*. I dunno if that's better or worse than the riff from "Day Tripper" through a cranked Dual Rec, but it's not what I want hear.

2. If the guitar is has a vintage-style trem, it takes a little longer to tune. If it's got a Floyd Rose-type, {censored} it, I've got no experience with those, and it'd probably take me a good hour to figure out what needs to be unlocked and screwed down and fine-tuned and battened to the hatches.

I don't expect Guitar Center to make sure all 600 Mexican Fenders on its walls ring at a perfect A440, but the so-called Mom&Pop stores should be able to keep their guitars in tune, with non-gunky strings on them, right?

• Members

agree completely, especially in small store where there is not much stock. When someone walks in and tunes the guitar to something else the sales person should tune it back once the person is done with it. I don't mind tuning myself but it gets frustrating when out of 5-6 guitars you pick up 3-4 are out of tune big time. I have actually started bringing a tuner with me when trying out guitars to save time.

• Members

When I was at one of the new music store-within-a-store places at Best Buy, I went into the climate-controlled room where they keep the acoustics.

Three in a row that I tried were tuned to dropped-D by the customer before me. :rolleyes: