A question about choosing capacitors...

jelloman

• Members

Hi all...:wave:

I'm going to be re-doing my Washburn LP and I'm looking at sprague "Orange Drop" .022 caps on allparts...

They list both a 200 and a 600 volt model...what's the difference?...which one is preferable for a LP with '57 classics?

Thanks!

• Members

The number is the maximum voltage that the capacitor is rated to deal with.

AFAIK there is nowhere near 600v around your guitar.

There is a school of thought that says there is an audible difference between different high voltage rated capacitors but I have no first hand experience of that.

If you go to www.mylespaul.com forum they will no doubt try to convince you one way or the other.

• Members

A 5 or 10 volt capacitor from any manufacturer will do. Orange Drops is overkill and a waste of money to put in a guitar. El Cheapo ceramic capacitors will work just as good, you won't be able to hear any difference.

• Members

A 5 or 10 volt capacitor from any manufacturer will do. Orange Drops is overkill and a waste of money to put in a guitar. El Cheapo ceramic capacitors will work just as good, you won't be able to hear any difference.

Not true.

Ceramic caps are very linear in frequency trimming.

Sprague Orange Drops are "wet caps"... foil film and oil. They make a very notchy frequency filter.

As a tone cap in a guitar, Orange Drops have a cool "cocked wah" sound as the tone pot shunts more signal to ground.

• Members

Here is a link that explains the effects of different caps on different pickups and tone. Scroll down to the conclusion if you don't want to wade through the graphs. There used to be a better explanation on a website, but the website has been discontinued. I always use the Orange Drop caps. They don't cost all that much.

http://www.skguitar.com/SKGS/sk/CapTest/CapTest.htm

• Members

Not true.

Ceramic caps are very linear in frequency trimming.