Effects loop or not?

Guitar_Dan

• Members

You'll probably want to experiment.

But if you are planning on getting using the amp sims on the Pod, I would run it unto the Mesa's Effects Loop Return (or Line In or whatever they call it). This skips the Mesa preamp completely, so the mesa is only being used as a power amp.

• Members

But if you are planning on getting using the amp sims on the Pod, I would run it unto the Mesa's Effects Loop Return (or Line In or whatever they call it). This skips the Mesa preamp completely, so the mesa is only being used as a power amp.

Thanks for that.

So once its plugged into the loop return, what settings are still available on the amp? ie volume, bass, mids etc? and what channel will the amp need to be on? Sorry, I've no experience with this whatsoever.

• Members

Thanks for that.

So once its plugged into the loop return, what settings are still available on the amp? ie volume, bass, mids etc? and what channel will the amp need to be on? Sorry, I've no experience with this whatsoever.

None. Except maybe the master volume.

You are totally bypassing the preamp channels and plugging it right before the Phase Inverter.

Guitar amps, are heavily filtered, they are all voiced to emphasize the tonal range of the electric guitar. They really reshape the tone. So if you run a amp model into a guitar amp preamp, it tends to get all funky.

• Members

Check out the so called 4 cable method of setting up with an effects loop. May be helpful if you can do it with the Pod...

Google once again is your friend.

I thought I read somewhere that the HD300 and 400 don't have the proper connections for the 4 cable method. I may be wrong on that.

If they DO, that's what I'd do.

• Members