Owners of POD HD. Share the pros and cons.

Jkater

• Members

Like the title says. Especially regarding how it records direct into the computer and how you do it for best results.(what kind of connections, cable, settings,etc.)

I suggest we share our thoughts before reading others' but everyone has their own way to go about that one.

Thanks all!

• Members

Pros: sounds great and is a phenomenal value

Cons: not quite as easy as just plugging straight into an amp.

IMO it's a great unit that provides a lot of very usable tones at an attractive price point. As for recording, I just use the USB and go straight into my Mac and then either use iMovie or GarageBand to record. I'm no seasoned pro and have no experience with vintage tube amps and therefore am not trying to compare it to said gear. To me all that matters is whether or not I can dia up some usable tones and to that the answer is a definitive yes.

I say get one from somewhere with a good return policy and just hold off on registering it unti you are sure it meets your needs.

• Members

You can read my in depth thoughts here (based on 1.2 firmware, need to update the article), but in a nutshell:

Pros: Good to great amp modeling/effects, flexible internal routing/programming architecture.

Cons: Poor rotary/univibe emulation (perhaps poor is too strong a word, I'd simply say not the best), the effects mix parameter is often very wet even at minimal settings, complex to program with some none intuitive signal stereo routing (HD500 only), cabinet modeling could be improved.

• Members

I will concur with Will's statements and only add that I still think you need some kind of tube preamp to get the best out of it. IMO, the amp models and distortion models still have something going on that I don't dig. I also miss some of the effects capabilities of the GT-10. But it has many advantages over the GT-10 as well. IMO it's one of the best things going for the price and it's growing on me more each day.