Newbie drummer : tiresome bassdrum kicking

Logicat

• Members

Hello folks,

i'm new on this forum, and since i'm a newbie drummer, i think i'll have many questions to ask :)

I use a Yamaha DTXpress III Special Set, i don't need to become a pro drummer, but mostly to improve the drum part of some genres of music i make, since i'm mostly a home-recording keyboardist. I'm practicing with a book and by listening and mimicking existing songs.

This is my biggest problem of the moment : the bassdrum. I checked some videos and i realized that i can play it by leaving my heel against the ground (and using the front area of the foot to play it), or with a technique which involves using the front area of the foot first (with the foot and the leg being slighty raised from the ground) and then, quickly, by lowening the leg and the foot (so called "leg kick", or something similar).

Problem is : i get my leg tired VERY quickly, when i use the second approach. Just 3 minutes of that method only will make my leg totally unusable. So, what i'm asking here is : is it me that i'm doing it in the wrong way, is it the way i'm sitting on the chair which is wrong, is it my leg which needs more training to get its muscles becoming stronger...?

I guess that even a pro drummer couldn't use that method for an entire gig, it's simply too much tiresome...Or not ?

I guess that one has to relax the leg, at least at certain moments...But what if the song is fullfilled with kicks ?

I'm trying to use this method mostly (instead of the heel-to-ground one) because, to me, it seems that i can achieve quicker kicking.

Any suggestion will be appreciated, thank you.

• Members