EQ settings for bass and amp for SLAP/POP?

skier4467

• Members

I'm a guitarist who is trying to learn how to slap and pop on my bass.

I've got a p-bass knockoff and a Fender Rumble 100w 2x10inch amp. What are the best eq settings for a good slap style??

1) how should I turn the tone on my bass? Volume 100% up?

2) How should I set the eq knobs on my amp? There is bass, low mid, high mid, treble, and a toggle switch that says mid-scoop.

Thanks for any suggestions! So far I love this amp that I just got.

• Members

Well, you have perhaps the worst bass ever for slap and pop. So keep that in mind.

Leave the tone way open on the bass.

Put the EQ flat and the mid-scoop ON, and start slapping. Adjust to taste. I'd imagine since you have a P bass that you'd want to post the upper mids and treble a bit.

• Members

yep, new strings really slap. I had heavy strings for a long time and didn't know why other basses could slap and pop...

Then I put on some Ernie Ball slinky strings...

I can slap and pop all day long now!

My experience was that lowering the action made my bass (T-40) more slap happy... but it was pretty high...

• Members

Originally posted by mrtokai

A lower action is prefered by many people who tend to slap, along with lighter strings.

speaking of which, do they still make Superwounds? Those were obscenely thin. Mark King and Geddy used them back in the day, but I never tried them 'cause I was playing an XFactor4 at the time.

• Members

Originally posted by skier4467

I'm a guitarist who is trying to learn how to slap and pop on my bass.

I've got a p-bass knockoff and a Fender Rumble 100w 2x10inch amp. What are the best eq settings for a good slap style??

1) how should I turn the tone on my bass? Volume 100% up?

2) How should I set the eq knobs on my amp? There is bass, low mid, high mid, treble, and a toggle switch that says mid-scoop.

Thanks for any suggestions! So far I love this amp that I just got.