What strings do you use?

intothevoid

• Members

I am completely new to bass, but I am thinking of buying a second hand bass and that may mean it would be worthwhile to change the strings. What sort of strings should I get though? I will play mainly rock such as Black Sabbath, Cream, Budgie (I love the sound of Burke Shelley's bass). But what style and gauge of strings do you guys use and why?

• Members

Depends on what I'm going for.

I use DR stainless Lo-Riders on my six-string bass because they've got the best tone I've ever had out of a set of bass strings and because I loathe nickel strings.

I've also got a 24-year old Ibanez Roadstar that's got as much vintage tone as any p-bass I ever owned and it gets strung with D'Addario Chromes - I prefer flatwounds for vintage thump and the Chromes have all the thump but are almost as bright as a lot of roundwounds I've used.

Gauge? I usually go for the medium-gauge set but I tend to play with a fairly light touch and let the amp do all the work :)

• Members

Depends on what I'm going for.

I use DR stainless Lo-Riders on my six-string bass because they've got the best tone I've ever had out of a set of bass strings and because I loathe nickel strings.

I've also got a 24-year old Ibanez Roadstar that's got as much vintage tone as any p-bass I ever owned and it gets strung with D'Addario Chromes - I prefer flatwounds for vintage thump and the Chromes have all the thump but are almost as bright as a lot of roundwounds I've used.

Gauge? I usually go for the medium-gauge set but I tend to play with a fairly light touch and let the amp do all the work
:)

Same here.

I use ground wounds or flats on my fretless, and stainless rounds on my fretted. I do have Chromes on my P bass, again, for that thump.

• Members