Rant/Advice...

Super_Donut_Man

• Members

Sorry, I know there have been quite a bit of threads like this in the past, but I will try to keep this brief...

I work as an accountant for a restaurant franchising company. I do the accounting for 7 restaurants, and am the primary contact for the owners of these restaurants.

One particular restaurant was not doing so well before the economy took a dive, and is doing pretty bad in general right now. They barely make a profit (more often than not its a loss) each month. The proprietor (owner) has been nothing but a flat out dick to me since I took over.

The accountant before me did a pretty lame job at keeping the balance sheet and such up to date, and making sure that all accruals and amortizations were taken care of. When I took over, I had no choice but to expense most of it over the rest of the months of the year.

Naturally the guy fought all of them (I would too), but what really chaps my ass is how this guy handles this. It started out as not trusting my knowledge in accounting. He would call my managers and a former manager about all this stuff (Still fine for the first few months, I was new to the position). It quickly moved to him accusing me of trying to rip him off. I, as well as the managers, assured him that I was not doing that. Over the months he continued complaining to managers, and pretty much telling anybody he can that I am an idiot, and screws everything up, which I was not. I have done everything by policy and I have even bent a couple of rules because his sales were so bad one month.

He has called me, and asked "what the {censored} is your problem?", hes called me an asshole and an idiot. Everytime I try to explain something to him he always counters with something that does not make sense in accounting and gives a smarmy "mmmm hmmmm."