Help please, valuation needed on a1962(?) fender jazz bass...

madmax100

• Members

Hi guys, need some help. My step-granddad has been hit hard by the recession, and is unfortunately thinking he's going to have to sell his bass. I was wondering if any of you could give an approximate valuation on it before I get it done professionally. All this info is courtesy of the man himself, so It might be wrong, sorry. He says It's an original 1962 Fender jazz in natural, with a rosewood fingerboard. At the body end, as far as I know,all is original (except for 1 missing strap button, and thumbrest), but the neck has been refinished, and does not have the fender logo/decal on the headstock. However, it is the original neck, and I presume it would have the date stamp etc. in the pocket. It is in great condition overall. I'm a six-stringer first and foremost, so I'm far from an expert on this, so help please. I'm looking for an approximate value, before I take it all apart to take pics when I get it professionally valued. Oh, and does anyone think that fender would supply a logo for the bass if I contacted them? Or would I have to get one from another company? Would it increase the value? The only pic I have of it at the moment is this one (sorry about the flowers lol):

precision.jpg

Thanks guys, if anyone needs any more info just ask.

• Members

whoops, sorry guys, my lack of bass experience showing there lol. Sorry about that. I can't check the stamp date at the moment, as the bass isn't with me. I'll definitely have a look though, and update the thread when I can. Thanks for the replies so far. Any possible ideas about the value of it as a jazz then?

• Members

If I knew what string mutes were, I'd tell you, lol (I don't play bass, just guitar). This is all sounding a bit fishy now..... hmmmm. But I'm 99% sure that the metal is original. As I said, I don't have the bass with me, but I'll check for string mutes when i can, and update the thread.

• Members