what do you do with your right thumb?

adamgram

• Members

I've been playing guitar for 15 years or so now, occasionally playing the bass when I was younger, then hardly at all for the past 10 years or so until recently when I joined a band that needed a bass player. I'm liking it a lot so far.

Anyway, my right thumb keeps getting in my way when I'm playing on the low E string. I tend to rest it on the E string when I'm playing the higher strings, but when I get lower I have to switch positions. Just wondering what other people do, if resting on the E string is inadvisable cause you can't do it on the low notes, or if there's anything else I haven't thought of.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I use my right hand thumb on the e or a to mute when on the higher strings... My left thumb is usually pointed at the headstock just off center on the back of the neck, on the treble side..

I do on ocasion wrap my thumb arround to the e for a fretting but never to mute.

Don't know if any of that is proper but it works best for me.

• Members

Depending on which bass I'm playing and where my right hand is at (near the bridge, near the neck, or somewhere in between), my thumb moves from the E string to the top of a pickup, the edge of the neck, or hovers above the E string with the tip on the body of the bass.

I wouldn't worry about it too much. I had to go pick up a bass and watch my hand to see what my thumb does. Keep playing and it won't be long before your fingers figure out what they're supposed to do.

• Members

With my P-bass, I find it takes a bit of getting used to but resting your thumb on the pickup is the best way to go. But yeah, it starts out feeling quite awkward.

I disagree with this, and strongly recommend letting the thumb "float".

Playing the E string, thumb doesn't rest on anything. Keep it loose.

Playing the A string, thumb on E string.