Close the trap or let the lips flap?

• Members

I work at a place where I happen to see alot of live music. This is good because I get to observe other people and see what kind of ideas work with the crowd. I noticed that I am real loose with a crowd but I'm not good at holding a conversation with the crowd. This one group has a lot of chit chat in between songs and their particular audience (christians, conservatives) love it. The jokes are not hilarious at all ... they are all mostly inside things between the performer and a few members of the audience. He will even from time to time stop and read a text message that he just got on stage.

Me personally? I just announce the song, maybe give a bit of background and then when i'm in the song that's when I'm expressing myself fully. I feel like I can talk to everyone individually more effectively AFTER or maybe BEFORE the show.

thoughts opinions?

-light

• Members

Originally posted by becomingfinal

do what you feel is natural. dont try to force being funny. if you are comfotable being that when then by all means people like to laugh it loosens them up. otherwise just play the damn songs!

Thread over.:thu:

• Members

Originally posted by light_without_heat

This one group has a lot of chit chat in between songs and their particular audience (christians, conservatives) love it.

If the audience loves it, then why is this a problem? Simply because you think it's dumb?

personally, I pretty much with few exceptions detest bands that just stand there and play and don't talk to the audience. If I just want to hear someone play, I can stay home and listen to my CD player, which almost always plays what I want it to and sounds 10 times better.