"I'm not a musician! I'm in it for the money!"

New Trail

• Members

Chances are good if he's only a lead singer he isn't a musician in the sense of playing and understanding rudimentary music principles as relates to an instrument and interrelating with other instruments. Most lead singers I have had can't even find their starting note without some help.

I would say I perform for money. I can play for myself all day long but to leave the house to do it I want to get paid or I'd just as soon stay home and play.

• Members

i just want to puch guys like that in the face! what if everybody did that? im not really a pilot, i just do it for the money. im not really a cop, im not really a doctor, im not really a __________... what happens is they dont really care about the results of their actions, or inaction. the "singer" wont care either way if the songs go well or not, as long as he gets paid. he will only perform good enough to make his money and nothing more. if he was in my band and i heard that id start looking for a new singer.

• Members

I can relate to that to some degree.

I like "Old School" Metal (as the young guys call it these days), but nobody else seems to want to hear it, so I'm forced to play music I don't care about (Nickelback, Godsmack, etc.) if I want to play out, so I'm playing strictly for the money. This is basically like working at 7-11 or Taco Bell for me. It's just a part time job, but it's one that I can at least enjoy a little, even if I don't care for the songs I'm playing.

• Members

I can relate to that to some degree.