Worst band in the world - and I have to play one set with them!

summit111

• Members

My Brothers,:facepalm:

Have you ever got yourselves in a bind you couldn't get out of? My day job is with a Fortune 500 company, and they have a big charity fundraiser going on. One of the fundraisers involved is an "American Idol" type competition.

One of the executives knows I play music and convinced me to play in one of the acts. All of the participants are employees, none of which have any stage musical experience. Well, just my luck, the act I'm in won, and now we're being flown to corporate HQ for a big show. I've seen videos of the other acts and they're pretty darn good.

The act I'm in is so bad, it's comical, but the rest of the band thinks they're great. They won't listen to any suggestions, and it comes off as silly. I can't get out of this! Arrgh!!!

• Members

GYHOOYA my Brother! (GYHOOYA = Get Your Head Out Of Your Ass!)

The event you've been invited to participate in has absolutely NOTHING to do with the music. You've been hand picked by one of your company's execs to participate in something because he thinks you might have something to contribute in terms of talent, experience and leadership - and instead of embracing it for the teambuilding exercise your management team wants it to be - and you're gonna bitch about your co-workers?

You've got a wonderful opportunity to enhance your image as team player within in your company. Execs who might otherwise NEVER know your name will remember your face as a smiling participant in what they surely view as a morale building exercise.